Pages

Showing posts with label it tweaks. Show all posts
Showing posts with label it tweaks. Show all posts

Friday

Speeding Up Share Viewing

When you connect to another computer with Windows XP, it checks for any Scheduled tasks on that computer - a fairly useless task, but one that can add up to 30 seconds of waiting on the other end - not good! Fortunately, it’s fairly easy to disable this process.

First, navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE/Software/Microsoft/Windows/Current Version/Explorer/RemoteComputer/NameSpace
in the Registry. Below that, there should be a key called {D6277990-4C6A-11CF-8D87-00AA0060F5BF}. Just delete this, and after a restart, Windowswill no longer check for scheduled tasks - major performance improvement!

Sunday

Make your own Home Theater Projector

Projection TV Instructions

These plans are very simple! Results may vary by types of materials you use. Works on TVs or monitors.



Materials

These are the things you will need to make your 100" projection TV!

Magnifying glass- Please note if it has a bifocal lens it will not work!!

Sturdy cardboard (or fiberboard).

Duct tape

Black paint or paper

3 pencils

Small mirror (about 3"x3")(optional, you don't really need this).

Four small washers that fit snug around the pencils.



Step1> Measure your screen (vertical and horizontal).



Step2> Cut the side pieces (A and B) for your projector. (Using your measurements from step 1.) Again use 35" for length. This allows the room to adjust the focus. Be sure to cut as straight as possible!



Step 3> Cut the top and bottom pieces (C and D.) (Using your measurements from step 1). Again use 35" for length.



Step 4> Cut out your slider (E). This piece will be the one that slides in and out of your projector! This allows for the focussing. Use your screen measurement from step 2 & 3. Then, find the center, mark it with your pencil!



Step 5> Remove the glass lens form your magnifying glass. Set it exactly on the cent or your slider. Trace around it, and cut our the circle very carefully. Lens must fit snugly in the hole!



Step 6> Now you have all your pieces cut. Now you either paint all pieces black, or cover with black construction paper. If painting, use more than one coat!



Step 7> Now start to assemble your projector. Place pieces A,B,C, & D together and tape them together using your duct tape. Tape both sides so you don't get any light showing through.



Step 8> Now connect the two side together using duct tape. Do this carefully, and now you should have a rectangular box!



Step >9 Insert your glass lens into the hole you cut inb the slider. THIS MUST FIT TIGHTLY. It must be flush with slider. This is a little tricky, but is not impossible!



Step >10 Take to unsharpened pencils and poke them through your slider (E) about one inch from the sides, not the top and bottom. Then put a washer on each end if the pencils. Use some tape if necessary to ensure pencils do not slide in and out! Only push a LITTLE of the pencil through, just enough to secure them. The pencils allow you to push pull the slider in and out to adjust your focus. If pencils interfere with your picture, pull them out after you have focussed your projector and put tape over the holes!



Step 11> Place your slider about halfway in the box. Your slider must fit squarely inside the box!



Step 12> Turn your TV or monitor upside down and carefully attach your projector. Use tape or any other way you desire! Should fit tightly and no light should shine through the box.



Step 13> Turn your TV or monitor on and adjust your slider to focus your picture. This may take a while. The further away from the wall, the larger your picture will be! The darker the room, the clearer your picture will be.



Step 14> If your image is reversed, place a mirror at a 45 degree angle in front of the lens. You may have to turn the screen in its back. Same principle used in school overhead projectors.



Step 15> After the projector is setup and focussed, cut the remaining front pieces away. This allows for better viewing.

Friday

Increase your hardisk speed

To speed up your hard disk speed we need to configure a special buffer in the computer's memory in order to enable it to better deal with interrupts made from the disk.

This tip is only recommended if you have 256MB RAM or higher.

Follow these steps:

Run SYSEDIT.EXE from the Run command.

Expand the system.ini file ********

Scroll down almost to the end of the file till you find a line called [386enh].


Press Enter to make one blank line, and in that line type

Irq14=4096

Note: This line IS CASE SENSITIVE!!!

Click on the File menu, then choose Save.

Close SYSEDIT and reboot your computer.

Done. Speed improvement will be noticed after the computer reboots.

Update: The most speed improvement is visible with IDE drives, however there are reports that this tweak also does good for SCSI disks. In any case, it won't harm your system.

Stop the system automatically rebooting after Windows Updates

Open your registry and find or create the key below.

Create a new DWORD value, or modify the existing value, called "NoAutoRebootWithLoggedOnUsers" and set it according to the value data below.

Exit your registry; you may need to restart or log out of Windows for the change to take effect.
Registry Editor Example
|NameTypeData|
|(Default)REG_SZ(value not set)|
|NoAutoRebootWithLoggedOnUsersREG_DWORD0x00000001 (1)|
-
|HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\Windo...|

Registry Settings
System Key: [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\WindowsUpdate\AU]
Value Name: NoAutoRebootWithLoggedOnUsers
Data Type: REG_DWORD (DWORD Value)
Value Data: (0 = no effect, 1 = do not automatically reboot)

Thursday

Enable CD AutoPlay for Pro

Edit your Registry as...
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00  [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Cdrom] "AutoRun"=dword:0000001  [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon] "allocatecdroms"="0"  [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Explorer] "NoDriveTypeAutoRun"=dword:00000091  [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Explorer] "NoSaveSettings"=dword:00000000

Wednesday

Repairs the Icon View of your XP

Follow These steps....
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00  [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Control Panel\desktop\WindowMetrics] "Shell Icon BPP"="16" "Shell Icon Size"="32"  [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Explorer] "NoSaveSettings"=dword:00000000

Sunday

On Resume, Password Protect vs on Resume, Display Welcome Screen Setting in Windows XP

When you open the Display Settings Control Panel applet and click the Screensaver tab, one of the following options are shown:

  • On resume, display Welcome screen
  • On resume, password protect

The second option is seen in systems which are connected to domain (which disables the Welcome screen.) If you enable this option, you’ll see the "Unlock Computer" classic logon prompt when resuming from screensaver mode. Whereas the former displays the Welcome screen when resuming from screensaver mode.

What if the "On resume, password protect" option is shown in a standalone system where the Welcome screen is enabled? What causes the "On resume, password protect" option to be shown in standalone systems and systems in a Workgroup?

This was asked by many Windows XP users over these years in various forums where I participate, but no entire explanation for this observation has been found anywhere. Hence this article was written.

Thursday

PreviewConfig Tool Registers File Types for the Preview Pane in Windows Vista

Windows Vista introduces the Preview pane in Explorer, which shows the contents of the currently chosen file. You can also play multimedia files from the Preview pane, without opening Windows Media Player. This article explains how to use the PreviewConfig utility to register a custom file type for the Preview pane in Windows Vista Explorer.

Registering file types for the Preview pane

If you have a custom file type and wish to register a plain text or a multimedia Preview handler for the custom file type, you can do so using this utility.



Usage

Download and run PreviewHandler utility (requires administrative privileges to run). Select the file type from the listing, and choose the type of Preview you want for this file type (Media / Plain-text / None), and click Apply.

Additional details are available in the Readme.txt file.

Adding new file types

If a file type is not displayed in the listing, you may manually type the file extension (example, .cpp) into the text box provided, and choose the Preview type for this file extension.

Example

You may use this utility to register text previews for plain-text file types such as:

.REG | .CSS | .BAT | .CMD | .INF | .CS | .VB | .CPP | .SQL

Preview Handler information

When you select a file type, the information of the Preview handler registered for the file type will be displayed in the text box. You can copy the contents to Clipboard by double-clicking the text box.

How to enable the Preview pane in Windows Vista

You can enable the preview pane by selecting Organize | Layout | Preview Panefrom the folder’s menu.

Microsoft Security Essentials (MSE) Update Utility

MSE Update Utility is a simple app that updates Microsoft Security Essentials when Windows Update is disabled. Windows Update service is responsible for frequently updating MSE. But once it is disabled via Group Policy Editor, MSE won’t update anymore.

You can download the MSE Update Utility from AddictiveTips.com.

Wednesday

How to Access the Hidden Themes in Windows 7

Windows 7 includes additional themes set which are kept hidden from the themes dialog. The hidden international themes are stored in a super-hidden folder. Here is how to access the hidden wallpapers & themes set.

Open Windows Explorer and paste the following address:

%WinDir%\Globalization\MCT


Note that the folder MCT is hidden (system attributes) by default.

Under the MCT folder, the following folders (MCT-AU, MCT-CA, MCT-GB, MCT-US, MCT-ZA) exist:


These folders include themes for Australia, Canada, UK, US and South Africa. Under each folder there will be four folders, including a Theme folder. Open the Themefolder and double-click the .theme file to apply it.

The Globalization theme gets added to the Windows Themes list in the Personalizeapplet.

How to Enable or Disable Thumbnail Previews Quickly Using Right-Click Menu in Windows Vista and Windows 7

If you had disabled thumbnail previews in Windows Explorer for performance, but want to have a means of enabling or disabling thumbnail previews in a jiffy, here is a solution for you. To enable or disable thumbnail previews in Windows Vista and Windows 7, you normally click on the Organize button in the folder view, choose Folder and Search Options, select the View tab and then select or deselect the Always show icons, never thumbnails.

Editor’s note: Of course, one can change the folder view options to Tiles or Details, and apply the setting to other folders. This article is for users who prefer the "icons" view, but want to enable or disable thumbnails quickly without getting into Folder Options.

Here is a REG file and a VBScript that adds a Enable/Disable Thumbnails option to the right-click menu. This script works in Windows Vista and Windows 7.

1. Download togglethumbs.zip and save it to the Desktop.

2. Unzip the archive and extract the contents to a folder.

3. Move the file togglethumbs.vbs to the C:\Windows directory.

4. Double-click togglethumbs.reg to merge the contents to the registry.

The Enable/Disable Thumbnails option is now added to the context menu, which will be seen when you right-click on the Desktop and when right-clicking on an empty area in a folder.

Tuesday

Get ip address of anyone you have a connection with or that is trying to Connect to you

Now how to look at this can be confusing unless you know what your looking for. If you have a instant message program such as "aim" and you direct connect to someone you have a "established connection" with them. So using this cmd command you can view their ip.

Usually the port number is "4443" and i noticed sometimes it doesn't work so i am guessing it is because that the person has a firewall. So here is the script.

open notepad and enter the following:

@echo.
@color 09
@netstat -n
@echo.
@pause


then save as "GetIp.cmd" and when opened you will view all established connections.

Renew IP address

Often using a LAN inside a home, users will encounter one or more PC's that refust to renew the IP address and bring the network back to a fully usable state. However this took care of that problem for us I hope it will for other XP home and PRO users.



  • Releasing and Renewing an IP address on Windows NT/2000/XP
  1. Click the Start menu in the lower left hand part of the screen.
  2. Click Run.
  3. In the space provided type "ipconfig /release" and click OK. Note that there is a space between ipconfig and the /release.
  4. To renew the IP address from the DOS prompt, type "ipconfig /renew". Note that there is a space between ipconfig and the /renew.
  • Releasing and Renewing an IP address on Windows XP
  1. Click the Start menu in the lower left hand part of the screen.
  2. Click Run.
  3. In the space provided type "ipconfig /release" and click OK. Note that there is a space between ipconfig and the /release.
  4. Type "ipconfig /renew". Note that there is a space between ipconfig and the /renew.

Turn Off Error Notification of Script Error

Only the webmaster has to know about every single script error. To turn off the error messages that pop-up, do this:

  1. Go to Tools, Internet Options. Click Advanced on the far right.
  2. In the browsing set, you should see one that says "Display Notification of Every Script Error". Uncheck it if its checked.
  3. Also, click "Disable Script Debugging" to stop that, also.

Speed up your web browsing

Iv'e personally found a dramatic increase in web browsing after clearing the Windows XP DNS cache.

To clear it type the following in a command prompt: ipconfig /flushdns

Keep Dial Up Connection after Logging off

You may have noticed that you loose your dial-up connection, after you log off your computer...

simply add this string to your registry, and your computer will keep your connection after you log off, and switch user until you disconnect it

Standard Warning: You really should back up your system before making any changes to your registry

1. Open Registry Editor

2. Go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows
NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon.

3. Click Add String Value within the Edit menu.

4. Type KeepRasConnections in the dialog box, and select REG_SZ as the
Data Type.

5. Click OK.

6. In the next dialog box, type 1 and click OK.

7. Close the Registry Editor.

Can't connect to computers in your network?

This may not solve everyone's problem with networking, but this is one way to fix a problem if you can't connect to users' computer.


1. Click start button

2. Click "My Network Places"

3. Right-click and click on "Properties"

4. Right-click on "Local Area Connection" and click on "Properties"

5. click on the "Authentication" tab

6. Uncheck "Enable network access control using IEEE 802.1X"

7. Click "OK"

Hopefully that should fix the problem. If it didn't then you have a different problem. Enjoy!

Assigning a Static IP Address

To assign a Static IP Address to your network connection follow these steps:

1. Open Network Connections

2. Right click the connection you wish to assign a Static Address to and choose Properties.

3. In the Properties box that comes up select "Internet Protocol TCP/IP" and click the Properties button beneath.

4. In Internet Protocol TCP/IP Properties place a dot in "Use the following IP Address".

5. Enter the IP address you wish to use and OK the change. Click OK on Local Area Connection Properties.

6. Reboot

Add a Website link to Start menu

To Install : Copy the code below to notepad and save it as link.reg then just right click on it and choose "merge".


Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{2559a1f6-21d7-11d4-bdaf-00c04f60b9f0}]
@="TweakXP.com"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{2559a1f6-21d7-11d4-bdaf-00c04f60b9f0}\DefaultIcon]
@="%SystemRoot%\\system32\\shell32.dll,-47"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{2559a1f6-21d7-11d4-bdaf-00c04f60b9f0}\Instance\InitPropertyBag]
"CLSID"="{13709620-C279-11CE-A49E-444553540000}"
"method"="ShellExecute"
"Command"="TweakXP.com"
"Param1"="http://www.TweakXP.com"


To uninstall : Copy the code below to notepad and save as rem.reg and right click and choose merge.


Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{2559a1f6-21d7-11d4-bdaf-00c04f60b9f0}]
@=""

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{2559a1f6-21d7-11d4-bdaf-00c04f60b9f0}\DefaultIcon]
@=""

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{2559a1f6-21d7-11d4-bdaf-00c04f60b9f0}\Instance\InitPropertyBag]
"CLSID"="{13709620-C279-11CE-A49E-444553540000}"
"method"="ShellExecute"
"command"=""
"Param1"=""

Activating Passive FTP Mode

If you have problems connectiong to FTP servers using Internet Explorer when your computer is behind a firewall, you need to enable passive mode so you can connect a different way.

1. In IE6 XP open the Tools tab -> go to Internet Options -> Advanced tab -> scroll down till you find "Use Passive FTP (for firewall and DSL modem compatibility)" -> TICK this setting -> hit Apply

This should resolve all problems with accessing FTP servers.
 

(c)2010 IT TWEAKS.Created by Nashim|WebsiteLeadtrance